Coraline by Neil Gaiman

“Coraline discovered the door a little after they moved into the house.”  Thus begins the creepy adventures of a little girl who discovers an alternate world in her own house.  The world beyond the door is similar to her own world.  There is even an identical set of parents…but wait!  Are those big black buttons in place of eyes?  Soon Coraline realizes that her “other mother” wants to keep her permanently in her world.  She even has a lovely set of black buttons for Coraline. 

This is the graphical adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s hugely popular children’s book, Coraline.  Not having read the original book, I can’t really compare them, but it seems the ideal story to receive the graphical treatment.  The illustrations by P. Craig Russell are detailed and realistic, evoking the kindness of Coraline’s real mother and the evilness of her sinister “other mother” equally well. 

This book will be released as a major motion picture in stereoscopic 3D in February of 2009.  See the trailer here

My Rating: 

2 thoughts on “Coraline by Neil Gaiman

  1. I must agree with Booklove’s fine assessment of this graphical adaptation of Gaiman’s novel, but rather than appease me, it only whets my appetite for Gaimain’s original. I can’t argue that Russell’s illustrations are creepy, but I missed Gaimain’s lyrical descriptions and his magic of making his characters bounce off the page and into my mind.

    I couldn’t put it down, reading it straight through and catching myself looking over my shoulder once or twice. A wonderful book for adults and children.

Leave a Reply

