Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

I’m late to the party with this series.  I had not heard of the Southern Vampire Series until recently, and decided to give the first book, originally published in 2001, a try (I believe there are 8 Sookie Stackhouse books).  I was about a third of the way through it when I found out that the series is now also a show on HBO called True Blood

Sookie lives a quiet life with her Gran in small Bon Temps, Louisiana.  She waitresses at the local beer joint, Merlotte’s, where people think she’s a bit odd.  You see, Sookie has a “disability” as she calls it — she can read minds.  Her quiet world is turned upside down when Bill, a dark sexy vampire who is trying his best to fit into small town life, walks into the bar one night.  As her romance with Bill blossoms, women start turning up dead.

Harris keeps the story moving along and the premise that vampires “come out of the coffin” and live openly among humans, even stopping by the local bar for a cold one (synthetic blood, that is) is unique and intriguing.  The story veers awfully close to romance novel territory in places, and I would have liked for it to be a little less fluffy and a little more dark, but overall a very entertaining read and I’m looking forward to seeing the HBO series.  That being said, I’m not chomping at the bit to read the second Sookie Stackhouse book, but then I’m not big on series fiction to start with.  Recommended.

My rating: 

2 thoughts on “Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

  1. I hate to tell you, Booklove, but if you thought the book was fluff, stay away from the HBO series. I was trapped in a hotel in Burlington, Mass. when I was forced to endure the season premiere of True Blood; I had been primed for some serious southern gothic and was sorely let down. Of course, a Russell Crowe/Denzel Washington movie had preceded True Blood, so my hormones were perhaps a little fuzzy at the time thereby impairing my judgment.

    Ahem.

    One reason I haven’t read the series is because I simply cannot get past the name “Sookie Stackhouse,” which is a disability far overreaching any mind reading capabilities. Try saying it out loud a few times, it sounds like one of the noises one would coo at an infant in a cradle, “ooo, sookie, sookie, ain’t she a cutie.” Now imagine several adolescent beer guzzling, over pompous teenagers gurgling the name constantly in wretchedly feigned southern accents. I was ready to drive a stake through my own heart before it mercifully ended; I think I’ll pass on the book.

    Bleh!

  2. Trust the Dragon not to mince words! I did go to the HBO website and watched the trailers for each episode. Can’t say I disagree with you. I can probably wait until it comes out on DVD to check it out. Now about that Russell Crowe movie . . .

Leave a Reply

