No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy

I’m not sure if “Loved It” is strong enough to convey how I felt about this book.  WOW!!  Booklove turned me on to McCarthy’s The Road some time ago, and I really enjoyed that book, but this, THIS, is the kind of book that I love to read. As with all of McCarthy’s novels, it is dark and violent, but it is not gratuitous violence, every event has meaning and leads to the next incident. McCarthy constructs a tale of a drug run gone bad and the ramifications of one decision made by one individual to take the money and run. The language is simple and precise and McCarthy wastes not a word, reminding me in some sections of Hemingway’s short story “Hills Like White Elephants,” delivering dialogue so meticulous you always know the speaker and their intent. The last quarter of the book took me completely by surprise, both in plot development and technique, but it did not disappoint. Knowing that the film version of this novel rests in the competent hands of Joel and Ethan Coen, I can’t wait to see the movie. The voices of McCarthy’s characters will resonate in your head long after you finish No Country for Old Men.

My Rating:  

One thought on “No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy

  1. I read about two thirds of this one then promptly left it at a friend’s house and had to take a two week break from it. That hurt! Cormac McCarthy is fast becoming one of my favorite authors. Like Book Dragon, I loved this one. The ending is not as neatly tied up as some may like, but there is no arguing that the book is beautifully written and very suspenseful. I would have to say that I still like The Road a bit more, but this one is really good too. Looking forward to seeing the movie, although some of the suspense will be lessened since I already know the ending.

Leave a Reply

