Oryx and Crake by Margaret Atwood

Let me start out by saying that Margaret Atwood is one of my favorite authors. I really enjoyed The Blind Assassin and Alias Grace, and I would even go so far as to name The Handmaid’s Tale as one of my favorite books. That’s why I’m so disappointed in this one. Set in a post-apocalyptic wasteland, Snowman seems to be the only living human left in a world full of “Crakers”, some type of bio-engineered, too perfect creatures who look to him for guidance and explanations of the world around them. Strange animals (rakunks, pigoons, bobkittens), also products of some type of biological experimentation, inhabit the wasteland as well. It’s all just a bit too much for me, so I gave up about halfway through. If you are a science fiction fan, then give it a go, but I’m off to find something else for my nightstand.

My rating:

Leave a Reply

